NUBIAN EYE

THE BOER NEXT DOOR

THE BOER NEXT DOOR

You could have knock me down with a feather
Would you believe it, living next door to a Boer
A real live Afrikaan
And me a Jamaican
Needless to say, we didn’t see eye to eye
My music was greeted with thumps and bangs on the wall
My children they couldn’t play out at all

Stone the crow
One night I got so low,
I decided that one of us had to go

In a rage I contemplate,
The force with which one could hate
Without though or hesitation
Filled with anger and grim determination

I went next door to confront the Boer
Picking up something heavy,
I lobbed it through a window
Blind with rage I kicked in the front door

Back to the window and smashed it some more
Violence is not the way- there always a price to pay
But its one they understood
For, the very next day the boring Boers fled
Enough said.

Sonya Dawn

Leave a comment